Skip to Content

ILLINOIS BOARD of ADMISSIONS to THE BAR

ILLINOIS BOARD of ADMISSIONS to THE BAR

All Announcements


JULY 2021 HELPFUL HINTS


Please CLICK HERE to access helpful reminders and tips for the July 2021 Remote UBE in Illinois. 

Admission by Transferred October 2020 Remote Examination Score


If you earned a score in Connecticut, the District of Columbia, Kentucky, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Oregon, Tennessee, Vermont, or the *Virgin Islands on the October 2020 bar exam and wish to use that score to apply for admission in Illinois, the application for Admission by Transferred October 2020 Remote Examination Score is now available.  Click here to initiate an application https://www.ilbaradmissions.org/confirmselectapplication.action?id=240

*Virgin Islands approved May 2021



RECIPROCITY ANNOUNCEMENT


Illinois Board of Admissions to the Bar Announces Reciprocity Agreements

Per the order of the Illinois Supreme Court authorizing the Illinois Board of Admissions to the Bar to consult with other jurisdictions administering the October 5-6, 2020 NCBE remote exam to arrange for reciprocity, the Board is pleased to announce that Illinois will engage in reciprocity with the following jurisdictions:

Connecticut

District of Columbia

Kentucky

Maryland

Massachusetts

New Hampshire

New Jersey

New York

Ohio

Oregon

Tennessee

Vermont

 

 

Other jurisdictions may be added to this list.

Per the agreement, the Illinois Board of Admissions to the Bar is required to provide these jurisdictions with the names of applicants sitting for our exam, their NCBE numbers, and earned score.  Any applicant wishing to opt out of having this information released to the above-named jurisdictions (and any other jurisdictions added later) should contact Deputy Director Larie McGill, lmcgill@ilbaradmissions.org.  Note that if you choose to opt out, you are opting out of reporting to ALL jurisdictions. 

Applicants should be aware that this agreement applies only to scores earned on the October 5-6, 2020 exam.  It does not apply to any other score or any other exam.



Illinois Supreme Court Rule 711(g)


 

Please be aware that the Illinois Supreme Court has amended Illinois Supreme Court Rule 711(g).  Below is the link to the amended Rule.

https://www.illinoiscourts.gov/Resources/71322647-b454-4b94-a2c1-2db33cd0af3c/070220.pdf



COVID 19 PANDEMIC


As our nation addresses the COVID-19 pandemic, IBAB is taking steps to assure the health and safety of our employees and the community.  We are still operating, but many employees are working remotely.   Our office is closed to the public.  Staff is available via email, and that will be the most efficient method for us to assist you. 

 

If you have questions about an exam or UBE transfer application pursuant to Illinois Supreme Court Rules 704, 704A, or 715, please email a file processor:

 

Last Name A-Bo:  Diana Hobrock, dhobrock@ilbaradmissions.org

Last Name Br-E:  Dorothy Holmes, dholmes@ilbaradmissions.org

Last Name F-Jam:  Judith McDonough, jmcdonough@ilbaradmissions.org

Last Name Jan-Mas:  Lisa Bailey, lbailey@ilbaradmissions.org

Last Name Mat-Pl:  Stephany Shipp, sshipp@ilbaradmissions.org

Last Name Po-Ste:  Tammy Adams, tadams@ilbaradmissions.org

Last Name Sti-Z:  Tara Henrikson, thenrikson@ilbaradmissions.org

Nonstandard:  Ty Perry, tperry@ilbaradmissions.org

 

If you have a question about laptop testing, please email Stephany Shipp, sshipp@ilbaradmissions.org, or Tara Henrikson, thenrikson@ilbaradmissions.org

 

For questions about applications pursuant to Illinois Supreme Court Rules 705, 712, 716, 717, and 719, please email Paula Ramsey-Brown, pramsey-brown@ilbaradmissions.org

 

For inquiries about Character and Fitness processes, please email Vanessa Williams, vwilliams@ilbaradmissions.org

 

Questions about non-standard testing accommodations should be directed to Ty Perry, tperry@ilbaradmissions.org

 

Questions concerning MPRE and MBE score transfers, administrative accommodations, or study materials, contact Carrie Homann, chomann@ilbaradmissions.org

 

Inquiries from law schools and bar admission entities should be directed to Larie McGill, lmcgill@ilbaradmissions.org

 

All other inquiries, please contact Nancy Vincent, nvincent@ilbaradmissions.org

 

 

Understand that not all inquiries can be handled immediately, and we thank you for your patience.  Be safe and be well.